using buttons in subroutine?

I have a line of code for sending midi note on/off messages that repeats with 8 different buttons, here's a cut down version

Button RECbutton = Button(2,PULLUP);

if(RECbutton.isPressed()) { MIDI.sendNoteOn(38,127,1); // record on delay(20); // debounce do { delay(20); } while(RECbutton.isPressed(); MIDI.sendNoteOn(38,0,1); // off

I thought about creating a subroutine

void wait (whichbutton) { delay(20); // debounce do { delay(20); } while(whichbutton.isPressed(); }

but how can I pass a button name into the subroutine? I don't think it's an integer!

I'm new to programming, so bear with me!

but how can I pass a button name into the subroutine? I don't think it's an integer!

You are right. It is not. However, you know it's type - Button. So, define the function to take an argument of type Button & (reference to Button).

void wait (Button &whichbutton)
{
      delay(20); // debounce
      do {
          delay(20);    
          }
       while(whichbutton.isPressed();  
}

However, if you have 8 button objects to manage, an array of Button objects is probably more appropriate. Then, the wait function would just need to know the index (an int) into the (global) array of Button objects.

Button buttons[8] = {
Button(2, PULLUP),
Button(3, PULLUP),
Button(9, PULLUP)
};

Use whatever pin numbers are appropriate.

Then, the wait function could look like:

void wait (int whichbutton)
{
      delay(20); // debounce
      do {
          delay(20);    
          }
       while(buttons[whichbutton].isPressed();  
}

The advantage of an array of buttons should be obvious, If not, consider that you could also have an array of notes that correspond to buttons: int notes[8] = {38, ?, ?, ?, ?, ?, ?, ?};

Then, the code snippet you posted could look like:

if(buttons[n].isPressed())
      {
      MIDI.sendNoteOn(notes[n],127,1);  // record on
      delay(20); // debounce
      do {
          delay(20);    
         }