Using buttons to toggle 'pages' on an LCD

Hi all,

OK so I'm slowly getting to grips with everything Arduino, but one thing I don't have a clue where start is pushing a button to make the Arduino do something else.

In this case, I want to toggle between multiple LCD "pages" by pressing a button.

So the LCD will for example be showing indoor and outdoor temperature, and I would want to change this to show humidity, the time, or whatever. I'd like to toggle this by pressing a button.

Can anyone walk me through the process with some example code?

I have no programming or C experience and Arduino is my first foray into it all, so please treat me as a noob. :)

Thanks.

I assume you haven't tried the Examples on the tutorial page. About the second example is:

http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/DigitalReadSerial

This reads the state of a button and writes it to the serial port. Obviously, you could use it to increment your page counter instead.

Thanks, but that doesn't really help..! Sorry if that sounds churlish, but I'd like to know how exactly to 'store' different 'pages' (i.e. a selection of lcd.setCursor and lcd.print commands) and then move between them.

Many thanks

This is an easy thing to do, once you get your head round the idea.

I do this (or somthing similiar) in most of my projects, and while I dont know if its the best way, I do it by using a variable to keep an idea of what page Im on, and then displaying the specified screen.

dummy code:

int screenSelect=0;
void main(){
if (button_pressed) change menuScreen;

if (screenSelect==0)  screen0()
if (screenSelect==1) screen1()... etc
}

screen0(){
//display screen 0 stuff here
}

screen1(){
//display screen 1 stuff here
}

I have a different display() routine for each screen and I call them depending on which screen i need to see.

I hope this helps.

edit:added extra dummy code