Using case as ground?

Hi all!
I'm building a midi controller for my band. It will be contained within an aluminium/steel chassis (about 30cm x 45cm x 20cm box) and running with Arduino Mega. I'll be using pretty much all the analog and digital ports and I'm trying to consider ways of reducing the amount of wiring inside the case. So I thought why not connect Arduino's gnd to the case with a small wire and then just connect all the other component's grounds straight to the case. This would reduce a lot of the wiring.
I already tried this with a single led and it seems to work. But before I go on taking the gigantic task of putting all of this together I want to make sure I'm not doing anything insanely stupid. Are there any defects to this approach? Could multiple components mess it up? Any tips very apprecciated.
I'm quite new to electronics :-[ Also tried googling the web and forum and couldn't find anything on this.

Thanks!

My trucks and motorcycles are wired this way. I see no reason for the electrons involved to be picky about traveling through the case, instead of a wire.

Unless it's a plastic case. Or the band is awful and the electrons don't want to listen to the music.

Or maybe the music is so good the electrons all want to stop and listen, instead of getting to work.

In all seriousness, whether the ground is a wire or a metal plate will make no difference.

I'm glad we're so mediocre. The electrons won't bother to pay attention. Thanks for the prompt response. I'll get to work!

for my band.

Common practices (words to live by):