Using digital pins to fade LED

so I'm working on a project and need to control individual LEDs on pins 1-12 (digital pins). I need the LEDs to fade/ pulse in and out. i need to be able to control each individual LED independently of the others with all of them running at the same time.

I have NO idea how to code this, I'm new to programming arduinos.

If someone could help me out that would be great!!

if you can give me some code that would work that would be incredible!!

for reference, I'm using an arduino micro

Thank you so much!!!

first question..

how do you intend on controlling the leds?

second question.. what is it exactly are you trying to accomplish?

the more specific info you give, the better we can help you with.. so go into detail.. exactly how many leds.. are they single color, bi-color, rgb??? starting to see why specifics are a must?

and start looking into 74HC595 or TLC5940 - (or other) if you're going to control a bunch of leds... saves pins ;)

good video for starters: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FehBLNHMlfo

insignia: first question..

how do you intend on controlling the leds?

second question.. what is it exactly are you trying to accomplish?

the more specific info you give, the better we can help you with.. so go into detail.. exactly how many leds.. are they single color, bi-color, rgb??? starting to see why specifics are a must?

I need the leds to run by themselves without any other input once the program is uploaded to the arduino but i need to be able to control the brightness and duration of the fade/pulse for each individual led independently of the others

i will be controlling exactly 12 leds. on the digital pins, 2-13 (i accidentally said 1-12 before)

they are single color leds

k, each chip will control 8 single color leds..

potentiometer and a button... press button to select led and then use the potentiometer to deal with brightness/fade manually