Using Diodes in circuits with Solenoids

I am using an Arduino Mega 2650 to activate a 5V solenoid valve powered by an external power supply. The activation will be based on the results sent by a Hall Effect sensor. I have created the circuit with diodes as a precaution for when the power supply is shut off. I am fairly new to creating circuits, here are my questions:

1. Are my diodes placed in the circuit correctly?

2. Do I need a diode protecting the output of pin 13 from the board?

3. Are any other precautionary measures needed at this low of voltage?

Solenoid Valve: http://www.smcpneumatics.com/SYJ3120-SMO-M3-F.html

You’ve really placed anyone here trying to help out at a disadvantage by using the wrong parts from Fritzing… since I think most of us are pretty pedantic about being clear and correct when discussing a design.

Right away to me… no relay coil should be driven directly by a pin when a transistor driver could easily be used. Even if it’s just a 5V 40mA coil. Better to blow out a 2 cent transistor than your microcontroller pins.

I realize that these are designed for PLC usage, but even if the part is rated for a current draw: 21 mA at 24VDC, as stated in the technical sheet, you are still best served by using a “sacrificial transistor” because the arduino pins are not open collector. Technically, you could drive this solenoid’s coils from a legacy TTL IC 7405 or 7407 but it seems that the 24V part is pretty much standard… so an open collector solution is rather mandatory. I can’t tell, did you select the 5V coil?

Secondly, your diodes will only control directional current flow… meaning they only protect against plugging the battery in backwards and from the PIN, it only really creates a 0.7 drop in voltage and serve no other purpose.

See my drawing for where the diode goes… (across the solenoid coil pins, in reverse, so no voltage/current will flow under normal conditions)