Using ESP8266 as a WiFi switch while still having the mechanical button function

I'll not worried about the code for this project as much as the wiring. I would like to use an NPN transistor to short the power switch pins on my motherboard. I plan to do this by having the GPI0 attached to the mechanical switch, completing GPI0's circuit. I will have GPI2 connected to the base of the transistor, while having the collector and emitter of the transistor connected to the + and - pins of the motherboard's power switch.

GPI0 will be configured as an input.
GPI2 will be configured as an output
I plan to have a webpage that I activate a button using Siri's Javascript feature.

I posted here to get help on wiring because I am extremely new to the world of Arduinos, and this is my first permanent project. Therefore:

Any tips for more efficient wiring or if there are any problems with my wiring would be extremely appreciated.
I've read that motherboards send and receive at the 3.3V logic level, but if this is wrong, please correct me
If it's necessary, my motherboard is a GA-Z97X-SLI

I edited the post to correct the resistance of R1 as pointed out by Paul__B
I also removed my original image, and replaced it.

PC Power SW Schematic.png
Where is the base resistor for the 2N222?

Why is R1 so low? (100 Ohms in original) It will probably work, but ...

I apologize for my carelessness. R1 is supposed to be 10K Ohms. About the base resistor, I’m not very familiar with the application of transistors. Could you recommend a certain amount of resistance? Anything that you could correct me on would be greatly appreciated

Hi
If your goal is just turn on your computer remotely maybe the wake in lan feature of your motherboard network card could do it.

In order for this circuit to work, the computer button must actually be connecting to ground which I suspect it usually does (but being in the middle of the night, I am not going to pull anything apart to investigate).