Using external buttons to start parts of the script?

I’m new to using Arduino boards but it was a perfect fit to control two DC motors for my project. Right now I have 6 different scripts set up to run the two motors at slightly different speeds. I was wondering rather than plugging the board into my computer and running the different scripts if there is a way to compile all the different scripts into a one and trigger different parts of the script individually with external buttons. Like I said I am new to all of this so I’m sorry if this is a dumb question or not even possible at all. I looked into external interrupts and I’d imagine that’s how it would work but I couldn’t find anything about starting different parts of the script with it. Thanks for any help!

Yes, that'd be easy to do. Can read all 6 buttons and perform whatever code each does, then read the uttons again and it nothing changed, keep running the same code, or run the code for the new button press.

if there is a way to compile all the different scripts into a one

Copy and Paste

guitardr34m:
if there is a way to compile all the different scripts into a one

This demo of merging sketches may help to give you the general idea.

...R

guitardr34m:
I looked into external interrupts and I'd imagine that's how it would work

It absolutely is not. You simply do not understand what "interrupts" are - but for a "newbie", that's quite commonplace. So just forget about them for a long while. :smiley:

Essentially, you need to start with a main "loop()" code to read your buttons by polling, that is, to read one by one, make decisions according to that, and then let the loop cycle back to the beginning again to keep on testing the buttons.