Using functions (noob help with syntax)

I have never done any programming before, aside from extremely basic programs for a calculator and a bit of HTML. I've been trying to figure out the syntax for functions, but all of the tutorials on the web site seem to be written for people who already have programming experience rather than in plain English that I might actually be able to understand. Can someone help me out?

What I need to know: (1) Sometimes they use

int function()

and sometimes they use

void function()

As I understand it, you use int if you are returning something, but I don't know what that means. I thought int was for variable declarations.

(2) I'm not sure what's supposed to go in the parentheses. I've seen various numbers and also the word "void," so what do each of those things do? Is void the same as not putting anything there? The parentheses define parameters, right? But what parameters are you defining there?

I may have other questions about other things later, but these are the two bugging me at the moment. I've read through Getting Started With Arduino, but he doesn't do a very good job of explaining all the code there, either...

In plain English, the part in front of the function is the type you expect to receive and the part in the parenthesis is the type you send. Void is just another way of saying nothing, so void function(void) doesn't expect any input and will not send anything back. Just a blank () implies (void).

This is probably the best starting reference http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/