using interrupts

Hey All! I am completely new to the Arduino community but find its potential fascinating. I am trying to write code to read a water pulse meter using the interrupt and it is doing VERY strange things. This is just the beginning of my code trying to understand how the interrupt input works.....

I am using a delay of 5 seconds to debounce any input from the reed switch; I use two variables VAR1 and VAR2 to tell when an interrupt has been called; When the interrupt routine is called, VAR1 toggles; when VAR1!=VAR2, the IF loop is executed; this DISABLES interrupts and has a 5 second delay; yet I find MULTIPLE INTERRUPTS continuing to occur during this time as evidenced by multiple monitor reads of the GALLONS variable. Can someone look and see if there is anything obvious I am missing in my code? Thanks!

/*
Water Meter reading program
*/

//
//First define variables:
int LEDpin=13; //output led
int VAR1=HIGH;
int VAR2=HIGH;
float gallons=2.64;
//
void setup() {
// initialize serial communication at 9600 bits per second:
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(LEDpin, OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(LEDpin,LOW); //initialize LED
attachInterrupt(0, MeterWrite, FALLING); //signal to pin 2 of arduino
}

// the loop routine runs over and over again forever:
void loop() {
// continually check to see if interrupt has tripped:
noInterrupts();
if (VAR1!=VAR2){
VAR2=!VAR2;
delay(5000);
interrupts();
}
else{
interrupts();
}
}
//Now this is the interrupt routine to write to the LED as well as the OUTPUT:
void MeterWrite(){
digitalWrite(LEDpin,VAR1); //when it changes, change LED
Serial.println(gallons); //serial output to monitor
VAR1=!VAR1; //toggle 'VAR1'
}

I am using a delay of 5 seconds to debounce any input from the reed switch;

5 seconds?

Ask yourself if Serial.println will work in an ISR.

Read this:

Please edit your post, select the code, and put it between [code] ... [/code] tags.