Using IR remote to turn uninterrupted motion of a SERVO on and off

Dear all,

Apologies for the very basic question I am new to programming and arduino.

I am trying to write some code to effectively use a single button, on an IR remote, to trigger uninterrupted clockwise and counterclockwise rotation of a servo motor on and off. I have been able to piece together code to understand how to decode the IR remote buttons and have been able to use this to move the servo motor to specific positions using different buttons on the remote but cannot find a way to perform the task I am trying to complete.

I am trying to conceptually understand how I should structure my main loop to allow me to complete this task - can this be done?

All the best

What servo do you have?

A normal servo will only move to specified positions generally over a range of about 180 degrees in total. It cannot spin continuously over many complete rotations if that's what you mean by "uninterrupted motion". For that you need either a standard DC motor or a specific type of servo called a continuous rotation or sometimes a 360 degree servo.

Steve

Hey Steve - thank you for your quick response. That is precisely what I mean when I refer to uninterrupted motion and I realize servos are usually used to move to specific positions. I can bypass this problem by effectively using this code in the main loop so that the servo runs uninterrupted:

#include <Servo.h>

int servoPin = 9;
Servo servo1;

int pos = 0;

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
servo1.attach(servoPin);
}

void loop() {

for (pos=0;pos<=180;pos+=1){
servo1.write(pos);
delay(5);
}
for (pos=180;pos>=0;pos-=1){
servo1.write(pos);
delay(5);
}
}

I am wondering If I can somehow find a way to turn the routine within the main loop on and off when receiving an input from a single button on an IR remote.

Thanks again for your help