Using IR sensor and arduino to count RPM

Hello all,

I am attempting to write code to program an Arduino to calculate the RPM of a rotating disk. The issue I am having with my code is that I cannot get an accurate RPM value. Below is my code which I have edited and compiled from different sources. This is my first time programming an Arduino so sorry if I am not able to explain further. Any help is appreciated.

#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>

LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(0x27,16,2);

volatile int rev;
    unsigned int rpm;
    unsigned long oldtime;

void isr() //interrupt service routine
{
  rev++;
}

void setup()
{
   lcd.init();                    //initialize lcd
   lcd.backlight();
   attachInterrupt(0,isr,RISING); //attaching the interrupt

lcd.setCursor(3,0);
   lcd.print("Tachometer");
   delay(1000);

rev = 0;
   rpm = 0;
   oldtime = 0;

}

void loop()
{
   delay(1000);                             //update rpm every second
   detachInterrupt(0);                      //detaches the interrupt
   rpm = (rev/(millis()-oldtime))*60000;    //calculates rpm for blades
   oldtime = millis();                      //saves the current time
   rev=0;                                   //resets the counter

lcd.clear();
   lcd.setCursor(3,0);
   lcd.print("TACHOMETER");
   lcd.setCursor(0,1);
   lcd.print("Speed: ");
   lcd.setCursor(6,1);
   lcd.print(rpm);
   lcd.setCursor(13,1);
   lcd.print("RPM");
   lcd.print("  ");

attachInterrupt(0,isr,RISING);
}

Remove detachInterrupt/attachInterrupt from your loop(). Insert a cli(); line before the "rpm = ..." line and a sei(); line after that line which sets rev to 0.

If that doesn't work, post details (wiring diagram, pictures, etc.) of your hardware setup.

I've approached this with a multiplier rather than a bunch of math in the loop.
Heres my example code I refer to when I forget :slight_smile:

#define TacometerPin 2 // Must be pin 2 or 3

// My Encoder has 400 Clock pulses per revolution