Using Lcd Displays

I am new to Arduino and to using forums so I hope I am posting in the right place?

I have just bought the i2c 16x2 lcd display and wondered if I could still use the older displays that do not have the serial backpack installed after installing the library in the arduino ide, as I have managed modify a few sketches from other arduino users and dont want to lose the use of them by not being able to use the old lcd's, in time when I am more familiar with serial lcd's I will rewrite the code in my sketches.

Another question is how long can the wiring from arduino to such things as sensors and relays be before they are long.

wondered if I could still use the older displays that do not have the serial backpack installed

If you don't use the new library, it will have no impact just because it lives in the libraries folder.

Thanks for taking the time to reply.

I found the new lcd library at https://arduino-info.wikispaces.com/LCD-Blue-I2C and near the top of the page it says NOTE!! Move any other LCD libraries to another folder,or rename or delete them.

That is why I am not sure how to proceed.

The I2C drivers for the LCD are readily available.

http://www.dx.com/p/lcd1602-adapter-board-w-iic-i2c-interface-black-works-with-official-arduino-boards-216865#.Vb3nSkrXerU

The length of the cable to sensors is a general one but it depends on the sensor or output device.

You can feasibly drive a relay at the end of a Km cable given the right voltage.

You need to be specific on the device in question.

Weedpharma

weedpharma:
The I2C drivers for the LCD are readily available.

True, but we can only recommend that you use the more familiar fmalpartida library (and remove any and all other LiquidCrystal libraries from your IDE path) and then use bperrybap’s “i2cLCDguesser” script to determine the correct descriptor to use with this display and backpack, which descriptor you then copy into whatever sketches you want to use.