Using LCD Shield Kit to input text

Hello everybody, I’m quite new to programming Arduino and I have a question that might be actually be very simple to you friends. Nonetheless, it’s quite difficult to me :slight_smile:

As a part of my project, I need to input a text by using an LCD shield kit which has buttons on it. After some research I’ve learned how to assign functions to buttons.

I’m using a 16x2 LCD screen. What I need to do is to choose a letter by cycling through them with the UP and DOWN buttons, and press the RIGHT button to go to the next slot, and do the same so that I can type a word. Well, I can’t do it at the moment and this is the code I found from the shield’s website. I’m pasting it here as it and afterwards I’ll write what I changed in it to shape it according to my problem.

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

LiquidCrystal lcd(8, 9, 4, 5, 6, 7); // select the pins used on the LCD panel

// define some values used by the panel and buttons
int lcd_key = 0;
int adc_key_in = 0;

#define btnRIGHT 0
#define btnUP 1
#define btnDOWN 2
#define btnLEFT 3
#define btnSELECT 4
#define btnNONE 5

int read_LCD_buttons(){ // read the buttons
adc_key_in = analogRead(0); // read the value from the sensor

// my buttons when read are centered at these valies: 0, 144, 329, 504, 741
// we add approx 50 to those values and check to see if we are close
// We make this the 1st option for speed reasons since it will be the most likely result

if (adc_key_in > 1000) return btnNONE;

if (adc_key_in < 50) return btnRIGHT;
if (adc_key_in < 195) return btnUP;
if (adc_key_in < 380) return btnDOWN;
if (adc_key_in < 555) return btnLEFT;
if (adc_key_in < 790) return btnSELECT;

return btnNONE; // when all others fail, return this.
}

void setup(){
lcd.begin(16, 2); // start the library
lcd.setCursor(0,0); // set the LCD cursor position
lcd.print(“Push the buttons”); // print a simple message on the LCD
}

void loop(){