using LowByte or bit command for long variable

Hi -

I’m using set of 32 sensors, whenever a sensor goes high, want to change the bit number of a long variable (variable long errorsummary in enclosed code and want to capture this in address loop2), then read and display - summary of sensors going high in one execution cycle. reminding again, i’m a beginner.

I’m using Mega 2560, compiling is not complete(there is some issue with LCD),and not yet included command for bit instruction(do not know where/how begin with it).

Thanks in advance.

Mega_Data_Evaluator_Router_06_08_2017_V8.ino (8.21 KB)

I'm a bit baffled about what you are trying to do with sen[]. You do realize that sen[n] refers to the n'th member of sen, right?

You have a lot of basic confusion to clean up before you go off to set up any kind of "bit number".

want to accumulate the values of sensors that go high in one execution cycle into sen[] and display those numbers on LCD, as mentioned I'm a beginner.

rockwellramesha: want to accumulate the values of sensors that go high in one execution cycle into sen[] and display those numbers on LCD, as mentioned I'm a beginner.

So sen[] holds data? So why is it initialized with pin numbers? What is an execution cycle? Why on earth are you using goto statements?

Edit - your code isn't even close to a real program. Give up and try some easier things and explore the examples that come with the IDE to get up to speed. You can also look at some C++ tutorials online. It will take too long to explain all your mistakes and guesses here.

If you’re a beginner, don’t use goto. It’s a recipe for bugs that are hard to solve.

if (digitalRead(sen[A1] == HIGH));

else (digitalRead(sen[A2] == HIGH);

So if sen[A1] equals high, do nothing. Further A1 equals 15 (on an Uno, not sure about Mega); so you’re using the 16th element (which by coincedence is A15.

else(digitalRead(sen[4] == HIGH);

Similar comment; however sen[4] is A4, so you read that pin (again).