using Max6971 and 16 led array

Hello, I am new to all this, I have a project that is using the Max6971 chip with 16 led’s connected to it, I want to light all of the led’s and then with the push of a button turn off one led per button push, I have looked at many examples and now I am more confused, I found this line of code will write all of the led’s
for (int numberToDisplay = 511; numberToDisplay;)
and this is the line I tried to use to turn off one led at a time with the button press
for (int i = 0; i < numberToDisplay; i–);
I am not sure what is going on here and need some help, here is the code so fare

#include <TimerOne.h>

int buttonPin = 12;
int buttonState = 0;

int latchPin = 4;
int clockPin = 3;
int dataPin = 2;
int pwmPin = 10;
int TIMER, MSDELAY;

//int shiftOut(latchPin, dataPin, clockPin, NofRegisters);

void setup() {
// set pins to output so you can control the shift register
pinMode(latchPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(clockPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(dataPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(10, OUTPUT);

Timer1.initialize(500);
Timer1.pwm(9, 1010);
Timer1.attachInterrupt(callback);
}
void callback()
{
digitalWrite(10, digitalRead(10) ^ 1);
}

void loop()
{
for (int numberToDisplay = 511; numberToDisplay;)
{
if (digitalRead(buttonPin) == LOW)
{
for (int i = 0; i < numberToDisplay; i–);
}

digitalWrite(latchPin, LOW);
// shift out the bits:

shiftOut(dataPin, clockPin, MSBFIRST, numberToDisplay);
// take the latch pin high so the leds will light up:
digitalWrite(latchPin, HIGH);
delay(10);
digitalWrite(latchPin, LOW);

// pause before next value:

delay(500);

}
}

https://datasheets.maximintegrated.com/en/ds/MAX6971.pdf

Where is the 3rd part of this line? The part that tells it how to change the value of numberToDisplay? for (int numberToDisplay = 511; numberToDisplay;)

What are these meant to do? Timer1.initialize(500); Timer1.pwm(9, 1010); Timer1.attachInterrupt(callback);

as you don't seem to have an Interrupt Service Routine that does anything.