Using Millis for timing always returns 1 second

I am very very new to Arduino but have been a developer for years. Using Millis() to time is quite different than I would on the web.

Here is what I got

// Board Setup
int tiltPin   = 1;

// Global Setup
int tiltState  = 0; 
int totalTime  = 0;  
unsigned long startTimer   = 0;
unsigned long endTimer    = 0;       

void setup() {

//Initialize serial and wait for port to open:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  while (!Serial) {
    ; // wait for serial port to connect. Needed for native USB port only
  }

// check for the WiFi module:
  if (WiFi.status() == WL_NO_MODULE) {
    Serial.println("Communication with WiFi module failed!");
    // don't continue
    while (true);
  }

String fv = WiFi.firmwareVersion();
  if (fv != "1.0.0") {
    Serial.println("Please upgrade the firmware");
  }

}

void loop() {

tiltState = digitalRead(tiltPin);

//If we are tilted
  if (tiltState == HIGH) {

Serial.println("Tilting");

startTimer = millis();

} else {

Serial.println("Done Tilting");

if( startTimer > 0 ){
      endTimer =  millis();

totalTime = (endTimer - startTimer)  / 1000.0;

delay(1000);
    }

if( totalTime > 0 ){ 

testTime();

}

}

delay(100);

}

/*
 *Helper Functions
 */

void testTime(){
    Serial.println("\nCalculating time ...");

Serial.println("\nStart time");
    Serial.println(startTimer);

Serial.println("\nEnd time");
    Serial.println(endTimer);

Serial.println("\nTotal time");
    Serial.println(totalTime);

totalTime   = 0;
     startTimer  = 0;
     endTimer   = 0;

}

To me this should work since I grab time in one function, then again when the tilt is done. Every time I run this no matter if it reads "tilting" for 10 seconds the equation returns 1 second. So the startTime and endTime doesnt seem to be recoding the actual time between the HIGH and LOW switch. I think it might be something with delay but again, I am very new.

Some of the retunred data:

Calculating time ...

Start time

End time