Using millis() in my own library

Hi all, I am fairly new to Arduino and C/C++, although a veteran of embedded system from the days when assembler was the only option.

I am trying to create my own library function for non-blocking timing, using micros() and millis(). My function for checking elapsed time works perfectly when it’s inline code. But I just can’t manage to separate it out into a library. Whatever I try I get the error message:-

E:\Programs on 1TB\Arduino\libraries\My_non_blocking\src\Timer_NB.cpp:31:14: error: 'millis' was not declared in this scope

I have googled this thing to death, tried every #include (etc) I can think of, tried to reverse engineer every existing library file, slept on it, wept on it, and googled some more, and still not managed to resolve it. I can’t for the life of me work out why the millis() function is accessible from an .ino file but not from an included .cpp.

I’ve placed my wannabe library alongside the official libraries. The compile time diagnostics I get suggest my files are being found and processed. My timing code works fine if it’s just inline as part of my .ino file.

Here’s my .cpp timer file:

/************************************************************
    Call with:
      IntervalMicros  The IntervalMicros elapsed time in uS
       NextMicro  Pointer to an unsigned long, which is the caller's private time marker,

Return true if IntervalMicros uS have passed, alter NextMicro to the new point in time.
*/

int TestElapsedMicros_NB(unsigned long IntervalMicros, unsigned long *NextMicro)
{
  if (micros() - *NextMicro >= IntervalMicros) {
    *NextMicro = *NextMicro + IntervalMicros;
    return true ;
  }
  else {
    return false;
  }
}

And my .h file

#ifndef Timer_NB_h
#define Timer_NB_h
#include <math.h>
#if (ARDUINO >= 100)
 #include <Arduino.h>
#else
 #include <WProgram.h>
 #include <pins_arduino.h>
#endif

//#include  "Arduino.h" 

#include "Timer_NB.cpp"

#endif