Using millis with a Neopixel strip

Alternative subject : “It works, how do I fix it?” :slight_smile:

This is my first time working with millis, and the code I’m posting is to work it out before adding it to the main code. The full project is an obstacle avoidance robot so it runs two DC motors and gets information from an Ultrasonic distance sensor.

As it turns out those things weren’t that hard to figure out, what has been difficult is the add on where I said to myself “Wouldn’t it be cool or funny if the Neopixel scanned back and forth like KITT from Knight Rider?”. Isn’t it always the little add-ons that make the most trouble?

So the code below does ONLY that, and uses millis for the timing. It has not been tested in conjunction with the rest of the code yet.

However the solution I’ve arrived at seems very cumbersome, maybe because I haven’t done any programming in ages.

Is this the best way, or can it be streamlined?

#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>

#define LED_PIN    5
#define LED_COUNT 8

unsigned long flashInterval = 75;

int fwdState=0;
int revState=7; 

unsigned long currentMillis = 0;
unsigned long previousMillis = 0;
unsigned long counter=0;

Adafruit_NeoPixel strip(LED_COUNT, LED_PIN, NEO_GRB + NEO_KHZ800);

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);

pinMode(5, OUTPUT);

strip.begin();
  strip.show();
  previousMillis = millis();
}

void loop()
{
currentMillis = millis();
if (currentMillis - previousMillis > flashInterval) {
  counter++;
  Serial.print (counter);
  if(fwdState<8){
     strip.setPixelColor(fwdState, 0, 255, 0);    
   	 strip.setPixelColor(fwdState-1, 0, 0, 0); 
     strip.show(); 
     fwdState++;
     previousMillis = currentMillis;
  }
    else {       

strip.setPixelColor(revState, 0, 255, 0);  
     strip.setPixelColor(revState+1, 0, 0, 0); 
     strip.show();  
     revState--;

} 
  if (counter >= 16) {
    fwdState = 0;
    revState = 7;
    counter = 0;
  }
  }

}