Using Modifier Keys in "Keypad keypad = Keypad(makeKeymap(keys)" Array

I’m pretty much just getting started in this Arduino/Teensy world, and a modder friend of mine got me this far with a keypad mod. He wired the keypad to a teensy lc, and did all the mod work and software, so I’m a bit of a newb when it comes to programming this thing. All these keys seem to work great unless I try to throw modifier keys into the mix. Here’s the code that I have:

/** Keypad Bindings */
char keys[ROWS][COLS] = {
  {KEY_TAB,'q','w','e','r'},
  {MODIFIERKEY_SHIFT,'a','s','d','f'},
  {MODIFIERKEY_CTRL,'z','x','c',' '}
};

/**
 * Keypad globals
 */
byte rowPins[ROWS] = {16, 17, 18}; //connect to the row pinouts of the keypad
byte colPins[COLS] = {19, 20, 21, 22, 23}; //connect to the column pinouts of the keypad
Keypad keypad = Keypad(makeKeymap(keys), rowPins, colPins, ROWS, COLS);

void loop() {
  // Start - Keypad
  if (keypad.getKeys()) {
      for (int i = 0; i < LIST_MAX; i++) {
          if (keypad.key[i].stateChanged) {
              switch (keypad.key[i].kstate) {
                  case PRESSED:
                    Keyboard.press(keypad.key[i].kchar);
                    break;
                  case RELEASED:
                    Keyboard.release(keypad.key[i].kchar);
                    break;
              }
          }
      }
  }
  // End - Keypad

I’m looking for a solution that might allow me to include modifiers in my array. I’m thinking an integer array might be better suited to this situation, but I can’t seem to find a list of keys as integers in the key.h or keypad.h libraries. Thanks in advance for any help!

C4RP3N0CT3M:
… I’m thinking an integer array might be better suited to this situation … Thanks in advance for any help!

What is the actual issue? The code does not compile? The keypad does not respond?

Montmorency:
What is the actual issue? The code does not compile? The keypad does not respond?