Using MOSFET (or Relay) to tie Solar battery banks together

I am new to the World of Arduino, I am having a great time learning and building. I haven't programmed in 15 years but was surprised how quickly it came back to me!

My_Problem() {
I need to be able to connect and disconnect 48VDC battery strings from my Off-Grid Power System using the Arduino.
}

Background() {
I have an Off Grid Solar power system with 4 independent strings of 48V batteries. My PV Array will fully charge one string at a time, but not all four at once. I want to be able to fully charge the first string, then engage the second, third and fourth string as available power allows (only adding a single extra bank per day, disconnecting it at night). The system is out in the Woods and I am not on site to make the switches manually.

I have built the data-logging and voltage measuring shield, developed and tested the Sketch to check the voltage and decide which extra bank to add, and when to disconnect. Everything works great. The last step is to actually engage the 2nd, 3rd, 4th string.

I was originally going to use 3 relays controlled by the Arduino to pull bank 2 or 3 or 4 onto a bus containing bank 1. I could not find a suitable relay, rated for 100VDC and maybe 30A. The inrush current when connecting bank1 (@56V) and bank2 (maybe @ 48V) could be quite large.

I began researching NPN Transistors, which worked but would get too hot. On to MOSFETs. I thought I had it worked out with a N-channel MOSFET with suitable characteristics, but then realized the
DRAIN would be at 56V, the SOURCE at 48V and the GATE at 3V, and the problem is the Gate is not higher than the SOURCE.
Is my understanding correct? I'm looking at P-Channel MOSFETs now but I decided to ASK THE EXPERTS here as well.
Is there a better solution? I am not against spending some money (couple hundred $) on relays or components, I want reliability, efficiency is important too, there is not a lot of excess Watts around.
}