Using multiple a4988 fails

Hi everyone,

for a small project, I need to drive five Nema 17 stepper motors and chose the cheap a4988 drivers to do so. I bought a cheaper version of this driver Pololu - A4988 Stepper Motor Driver Carrier

I also went ahead and created a PCB with KiCad and had it manufactured in china. I assume a error in my (ugly) schematic and hope that it is obvious enough for someone to find as I am not an expert :slight_smile:

The Idea was to have the drivers nice and organized on a single PCB. I added solder jumpers to be able to set the direction for all drivers at once and/or do steps at once. In my case I only soldered the direction jumpers. All MS1 pins are connected to each other, same for MS2 and 3. Reset and Sleep are bridged on every controller. The enable-pin is not connected to anything. I basically tried to follow the instructions of this post: https://howtomechatronics.com/tutorials/arduino/how-to-control-stepper-motor-with-a4988-driver-and-arduino/

At first I thought everything would work fine, because as long as I only have one controller connected, the corresponding motor spins just fine! As soon as I add a second controller, either the first or the second motor will not spin correctly. It just vibrates around and makes noise while the other motor spins fine. I can switch motors and controller as I want, the behavior stays the same, to it is not a bad driver (or motor) and the PCB is at least somewhat functional because it can drive a single motor in any slot.

const int stepPin1 = 8;
const int stepPin2 = 9;
const int stepPin3 = 10;
const int stepPin4 = 11;
const int stepPin5 = 12;
const int dirPin = 4;

const int m1Pin = 1;
const int m2Pin = 2;
const int m3Pin = 3;

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
  pinMode(stepPin1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(stepPin2, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(stepPin3, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(stepPin4, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(stepPin5, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(dirPin, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(m1Pin, HIGH);