using nokia 5110 lcd screen and SD card reader/writer with SPI

hello... i'm very new to SPI and i'm not quite understanding how to connect my nokia screen and sd card reader to spi..

here's my understanding of SPI. i have MOSI and MISO pins, a serial clock pin.. and then the slave select. if i hook up my screen to the arduino directly, i can also hook up the SD card reader to the same pins and have a different slave select pin for that... thus saving some valuable pins in the process. it makes sence.. but i have no idea how to go about doing that.

for anyone that wishes to help... http://ladyada.net/products/nokia5110/ here's a tutorial for the nokia lcd screen that comes with example code.. and the sd chip library is in the arduino ide already.

can someone write a really basic bare bones code example of using these via SPI together. i honestly have no idea how to do it, but i really do need to save all the pins i can with my current project. (a wristwatch computer terminal) i can show anyone interested the code which includes the circuit and chips included written down. so far, it's an extremely affordable project.

but i thank you in advance, anyone who can give me any tips or example code.

There's nothing too magical other than knowing the various naming schemes of the SPI pins. Explaining the connections would be much simpler if you could provide a link to the exact SD card breakout.

It's important to distinguish between hardware SPI and software SPI. When you're using hardware SPI you're using pins 13, 12, 11, and 10 on the Arduino and the SPI library. If you're using software SPI you're usually using the ShiftOut and Shiftin functions and can use any pins; transfer rates will be much slower.