Using Optical Absolute Rotary Shaft Encoder

Hello,

I am a student and this is my first experience with arduino, so I apologize in advance for my lack of knowledge. However, any help would be appreciated to help me understand more about absolute encoders and my arduino uno.

I need to keep track of shaft rotations using an optical absolute shaft encoder from US Digital. Here is the link: http://usdigital.com/products/encoders/absolute/rotary/shaft/A2

The encoder came with a 6-Pin Modular Connector: http://usdigital.com/products/cables-connectors/cables/6-pin/CA-MD6A-SS-MD6

I will be using an ardunio uno.

I will be turning a shaft. I would like to have the arduino display on an LCD screen how many rotations have been completed. I will be moving the shaft clockwise and counter-clockwise. (For example: If I turn the shaft 5 times clockwise, then 1 time counter-clockwise, I would like the LCD to display 4 rotations. I know these won't be exact whole numbers due to the bits, but saying this for the simplicity.)

I know I need to arduino to interpret the analog voltage output from the sensor, however I do not know how.

I have read countless threads and forums about encoders and arduino, however I was wondering if anyone could help me with this specific hardware and purpose.

Is there any starting suggestions, code, or hardware connections that could help me with this project. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

npbirked: Hello,

I know I need to arduino to interpret the analog voltage output from the sensor, however I do not know how.

Looking at the data sheet i suspect that the analogue output gives an angular output from 0 to 360 degrees.

It will not however discriminate multiple turns. Index counting would be needed for that. What are you trying to achieve.?

I suspect using the digital output would be easier, otherwise why buy an absolute encoder, incremental would be cheaper.