Using own interrupt handlers: Collision of ISRs

Hi!
I’m quite new to Arduino but i’ve worked with Atmel AVRs and AVR-Studio before, so I don’t know if this is perhaps a standard issue, but I didn’t find anything in the Arduino docs nor the faq. So please don’t blame me for asking, just point me into the right direction then.

I want to use a library for receiving DMX lighting cotrol protocol, wich is based on rs-485. The code (a .c and a corresponding .h file) of the library is a modified version of hendrik hoelscher’s DMX512 reception library “lib_dmx_in” (i adjusted all register/pin names and constants.)

I can compile and test the code with AVR-Studio on a ATmega168 within the simulator. But when i try to use it with arduino (#include <lib_dmx_in.h>) there is a collision of the interrupt handler in the lib “ISR (USART_RX_vect){…}” and the one in arduinos wiring_serial.c “SIGNAL(SIG_USART_RECV)” which seems to be linked to the project, although i don’t use wiring.
The error message looks like this:

C:\DOKUME~1\newton\LOKALE~1\Temp\build15603.tmp\core.a(wiring_serial.c.o): In function `__vector_18’:

D:\Programme\arduino-0011\hardware\cores\arduino\wiring_serial.c:112: multiple definition of `__vector_18’

hardware\libraries\DMX_IN\lib_dmx_in.o:D:\Programme\arduino-0011/hardware\libraries\DMX_IN\lib_dmx_in.c:113: first defined here

d:\programme\arduino-0011\hardware\tools\avr\bin…\lib\gcc\avr\4.1.2…\avr\bin\ld.exe: Warning: size of symbol `__vector_18’ changed from 192 in hardware\libraries\DMX_IN\lib_dmx_in.o to 122 in C:\DOKUME~1\newton\LOKALE~1\Temp\build15603.tmp\core.a(wiring_serial.c.o)

Any hints how to overcome this problem would be great.
Thanks alot!
greetings from Berlin

Zeb~

Hello again,

meanwhile i updated to the new arduino-0012 and wrote a small
class DmxReceiver (in a .h /.cpp ) around the original lib which
basically wraps the c-function calls into class-methods.

So far so good, but the main problem is untouched: the interrupt