Using PID algorithm to control 5 motors. How to lighten Void loop

Hello,

I'm not a programmer at all, and I'm just copying and pasting.

I am trying to use a pid algorithm twice to adjust the speed of two motors with encoders.

But I think I have too many things to calculate in Void Loop () which means that my two engines move in a jerky way but when I use one after the other it works perfectly.

In addition, I would like to control 5 in the end.

How to structure my program thank you. (my program is attached)

PREMIERDEUX.ino (8.41 KB)

The code in the PID library is itself very slow because it uses floating point maths. It is also written to be applicable to a wide variety of applications. I suspect if you want to control 5 motors you will need to extract the essence of it into a simpler function.

How many steps per revolution, and how many revolutions per second do you need to deal with? Reading an encoder is hard work for an Arduino. I can control the speed of a small DC motor (up to 15000 RPM, or more) with a single pulse per revolution.

...R

The performance (and stability) of a digital controller is highly dependent on the sample rate.

It could be that your loop is too slow for your particular application, however, it might be that you just didn't tune it correctly for the new sample rate.

You cannot tune the controller with a single motor controller in the loop (sample time = Ts), and then add another motor, doubling the loop time, so the new sample time would be 2Ts.
You have to retune the controller.

Pieter

PieterP:
You have to retune the controller.

If, by that, you mean changing the K values then I am not so sure that it is necessary. My motor control works fine with fixed K values over a speed range from about 1500 to 15000 RPM.