Using plenty of pots

First. Please be tolerant to my English, it isn't my mother tonge (Hebrew)

Second. I'm pretty new to Arduino and hope to study as much as possible :slight_smile:

So now, I'm in the process of building my own synthesizer and I'm stuck with the hardware part.
I'm afraid I won't have enough analog and digital inputs and Arduino Mega isn't an option since I must use the Teensy 3.1

I know 21 analog inputs are a lot of inputs, but not enough.
I though about using a multiplexer but the problem is I don't want to push a button to select which pot to use or what parameter to edit, I want the MC to read each pot automatically.

How can I do so? Thanks a lot and thank you for your halping :slight_smile:

Hi,

Read this page on the 4051 multiplexer chip which can multiply your available analog inputs by 8.

Paul

PaulRB:
Hi,

Read this page on the 4051 multiplexer chip which can multiply your available analog inputs by 8.

Paul

Would it read them automatically?

Would it read them automatically?

If you mean under control of your code in a sketch, Yes.

LarryD:
If you mean under control of your code in a sketch, Yes.

Can you please post an example code to do so ? :slight_smile: as part of a project, because Im pretty lost in the programming stage...

Ulicc12:
Can you please post an example code to do so ? :slight_smile: as part of a project, because Im pretty lost in the programming stage...

There was some example code on the link I gave you before. That code reads 8 pots which are connected to a single Arduino input. Ask if you need help understanding that.

Whenever someone asks this question (and they frequently do), I always have to ask why they want to use potentiometers with a system which is digital. Given that virtually all "high end" equipment has moved on from potentiometers, to avoid noise and reliability problems, implement remote control and "presets" or "macros".