Using pointer to structure in a class

Hi.

I am new at writing classes. After a couple successes, I am fighting the syntax to work in a structure.

// In .ino
#define KEY_M_START_L 32

typedef struct st_contact {byte b_status; byte c_trigger; byte b_enable; 
                           byte b_running; unsigned long ul_TS; 
                           long l_TS_timeout; unsigned int ui_address;};
st_contact start_L = {99, -1, true, false, 0, 0, KEY_M_START_L};
// In .H

class cl_contact{
private:
  void init(void);

public:
  cl_contact (struct st_contact *edit_contact); // overdeclaring?
};
// In .cpp

cl_contact::cl_contact(struct st_contact *edit_contact){           
      struct st_contact *contact=edit_contact;
      // THIS IS WHERE I AM IN TROUBLE
 //   this->edit_contact=edit_contact;
 //   byte i;
//    i=contact->b_status;
 //   Serial.println(contact->b_status);

init();      
};

void cl_contact::init(void){

};
// again in .ino setup()

cl_contact sw_start_L(&start_L);

In the last block of code I try to declare a pointer to a st_contact structure called contact and make it point to edit_contact which contains (I suppose) a pointer to start_L. I am not sure i need to declare a local pointer contact pointing to the same address as edit_contact which seems the same as the initial start_L

How can I get and set the structure members, like the variable b_status?

I hope I did not mess the explanation :slight_smile:

Thanks
H. Martins

You cannot point to a structure definition. You can instantiate one of the data structures as a class member and then base your methods off that instance.

It may help to think of a C++ class as a structure with all the code to manage the data for the structure built-in to the 'structure' (ie the class).