using push button pulse width to set output delay()

Hi everyone.
I’m totally new to both the arduino and to C.
I’m trying to use the time a push button is pressed to set the time an output should stay LOW.
I have wired the push button to digital pin 2 with a 10k pull up resistor and a LED to digital pin 12 with 330 ohm resistor to test the output.
At first I tried using the pulseIn () function but I had the same result as this guy, so I used his code as the core for what I needed.

I have two issues:

1. after I set the first delay pressing the button, whenever I want to set a new delay, it will not work if I do it while the LED is LOW. I need to cut in while the LED is blinking for it to work.
  2. sometimes (I haven’t detected what’s the condition) when pressing the button (more than a sec.) it’ll stop working.
    I’m using an arduino uno.
    Here’s what I have:

int buttonPin = 2;
int ledPin = 12;
unsigned long pulseWidth, pulseBegin;

void setup()
{
pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);

}

void loop()
{

while (digitalRead(buttonPin) == HIGH){} //do nothing if initally push button is not pressed

if (digitalRead(buttonPin) == LOW)
{
pulseBegin = millis();
while (digitalRead(buttonPin) == LOW){} //do nothing while push button is being pressed
pulseWidth = millis()-pulseBegin; //record pulse width of button being pressed
if (pulseWidth < 1000){} //turn off if the button is pressed less than a second
else
{

while (digitalRead(buttonPin) == HIGH)
{
digitalWrite(ledPin,HIGH);
delay(1000);
digitalWrite(ledPin,LOW);
delay(pulseWidth); //use last recorded pulse width as the time the output should stay LOW
}
}
}
}

Any help would be gladly appreciated.
Sam.