Using PWM to control voltage output?

Hello,

I’m a novice, and I’m reading this page on how to drive vibration motors with Arduino:

https://www.precisionmicrodrives.com/tech-blog/2016/05/16/how-drive-vibration-motor-arduino-and-genuino

Long story short, the writer suggests that we can drive a 3v motor with the PWM by simply using, say, a value of 128 to analogWrite().

Intuitively, this seemed to make sense, until I thought about it. My understanding is that PWM always outputs 5v (or close to it) but just at different duty cycles.

So…I’m confused. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Best,
Lee

Motors are inductive which means the current doesn't keep up with rapid changes in voltage, it
smooths them out.

So a square wave voltage of 1kHz across your motor will produce a much more steady current in
the winding, but only some fraction of the current that would flow at the full 5V or whatever the supply
is.

The action of the motor cares only about the current in the winding, that's what generates forces.

Whether 1kHz is rapid enough depends on how much inductance in the motor though - small motors
may need higher frequencies to work well, and any motor may need ultrasonic frequencies to get rid
of the acoustic whining that audible frequencies give (which can be annoying).

That is really interesting, thanks! So...how can you ensure not sending too much juice?

So it's not a nutso thing to do I guess :slight_smile:

One thing that bugs me...a lot of times the motor spins faster when the PWM value I output is lower. Which does not make sense to me.

Depends on how you've hooked it up.
E.g., an LED with cathode to I/O would be brighter with lower analogWrite values.

rastoboy:
That is really interesting, thanks! So...how can you ensure not sending too much juice?

Set the maximum duty cycle to something that seems right?

So it's not a nutso thing to do I guess :slight_smile: