Using QRE1113 for encoder

I am new to this as well as new to Arduino programming. I have done most of the lessons available from this as well as other sites. But I am a bit stumped.

I am attempting to use a QRE1113 IR sensor to read an optical encoder disk. I used the following tutorial sketch for the QRE1113 sensor found at bildr Line Sensing. QRE1113 Reflectance Sensor + Arduino - bildr. I regret I do not know how to provide the line numbers along the left margin. That being said I have reproduced the code from that tutorial below.

The optical disk contains 12 segments, alternating black and white. The QRE1113 is placed in close proximity to the face of the disk bearing the alternating segments.

The output from the sensor to serial monitor appears in the following format :

I wish to use the rise to measure in signal to measure the change in each segment, essentially providing the number of pulses per unit of time. From this I can measure RPM as well as distance. But for the life of me, I have been unable how to count the changes or rise in the signal. Anyone have any pointers?

//Code for the QRE1113 Digital board
//Outputs via the serial terminal - Lower numbers mean more reflected
//3000 or more means nothing was reflected.

int QRE1113_Pin = 2; //connected to digital 2

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(){

int QRE_Value = readQD();
  Serial.println(QRE_Value); 

}

int readQD(){
  //Returns value from the QRE1113 
  //Lower numbers mean more refleacive
  //More than 3000 means nothing was reflected.
  pinMode( QRE1113_Pin, OUTPUT );
  digitalWrite( QRE1113_Pin, HIGH );  
  delayMicroseconds(10);
  pinMode( QRE1113_Pin, INPUT );

long time = micros();

//time how long the input is HIGH, but quit after 3ms as nothing happens after that
  while (digitalRead(QRE1113_Pin) == HIGH && micros() - time < 3000); 
  int diff = micros() - time;

return diff;
}