Using Relays with an arduino

Hey everyone,

I’m relatively new to arduino coding, and had some problems with coding.

I’m trying to change some existing code to power a small relay instead of an LED.

Instead of outputting 1 second of power to an LED, I want case -1 to output power to pin 3 until case -2 is triggered, regardless of other input. If possible, I would also like case -3 to output power to pin 5 until case -3 is triggered again. The entire thing should run on a loop so that each trigger can be repeated multiple times.

The output to the pins is not directly powering a relay, it will be running through a transistor first to trigger the relay on with another power source.

The code below is the sections I am referring to.

#define LED1 3
#define LED2 4
#define LED3 5
(skips some lines for space)
if((tA <= tB) && tA <= tC)
return -3 ;// FORWRD
if((tB <= tC) && tB <= tA)
return -2 ;// LEFT
if((tC <= tB) && tC <= tA)
return -1 ;//RIGHT
//Etc
return 1;

}

void DoCommand(int command)
{
switch (command)
{
case 0: Serial.println(“Stopped”);delay(500);break;
case -1: Serial.println("Turn RIGHT ");digitalWrite(LED1,HIGH); delay(1000);break;
case -2: Serial.println("Turn LEFT ");digitalWrite(LED2,HIGH); delay(1000);break;
case -3: Serial.println("GO FORWARD “);digitalWrite(LED3,HIGH); delay(1000);break;
case -4: Serial.println(” GO BACK "); delay(1000);break;
default : Serial.println(“NO Command detected”);break;
}
ResetCommand();
}
void ResetCommand()
{
for(int i = 3;i<=5;i++)
{
digitalWrite(i,LOW);//ALL LEDs
}
tA = 0;//Reset time A
tB = 0;//Reset time B
tC = 0;//Reset time C
}

Folks around here would prefer that you place your code inside code tags (refer to the sticky "how to use this forum" at the top of each forum.

Also, you'll be better off sharing your entire code. Sometimes the issue isn't were one might think it should be.

Feel free to edit your post above.