Using RGB LED's and a potentiometer to control colour based on Kelvin scale

Hi there everyone!

I have just entered the world of arduino and have picked up an arduino uno and a neopixel ring. I have no experience programming and very little with electronics (sorry!). I'm a Product Design Engineer doing my masters project at the moment and need to do a proof of concept for a product I'm designing. I pick things up quickly and am always looking to expand my knowledge.

What I'm trying to do - Basically what I'm looking to do is have an end product where I can control the colour of a neopixel ring with a slider (potentiometer) in the kelvin scale (1000k to 6000K say)

I have basically no coding experience though and just wanted to ask if this code potentially already exists somewhere and I could just use it? I can't imagine this would be very easy to code as the kelvin scale would effectively have to converted to individual RGB values? I know that if I have to code this completely myself I will never get where I need to get and so I'm really just looking for any pointers as to how I would do it? (or if it already exists somewhere)

any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance

Ben

Well one way to map RGB values to a linear range (1000-6000) would be to make the values into type word 0xRRGGBB or in 565 format and scale it based on the range.

You could probably use the map() function for this like I did here.

void setup()
{
 Serial.begin(115200); 
}

void loop()
{
  Serial.println(map(analogRead(A0),0,1023,0x0000,0xFFFF),HEX); // map 0-1023 to 565 color format
}

This code here does the reverse of what you want, but you could reverse engineer it.

void setup(){
Serial.begin(115200);
delay(10);
Serial.print(ConvertRGB(255,255,13), HEX);
}

void loop() {

}

uint16_t ConvertRGB( byte R, byte G, byte B)
{
  return ( ((R & 0xF8) << 8) | ((G & 0xFC) << 3) | (B >> 3) );
}