Using rotary Encoder to measure distance

Hey!

I really hope I’m posting this in the right section, I apologize if I have it wrong.

I’m working on a project to measure the length of the ends of my 3D printer filament spools so I can splice them together using my Palette+ from Mosaic Manufacturing.

The Palette+ comes with a rotary encoder so I’m hoping to use that, but I’m not entirely sure how to go about programming it properly. I’ve got it counting when the pulses turn on and off but it’s not very accurate unless it goes at the same speed every time. From what I’ve read I need to deal with interrupts but I am not super familiar with Arduino programming, I’m still learning.

Is what I’m trying to do even possible with just the encoder, should I handle this a different way, or do I need to set it up to feed at the same speed consistently?

Thanks for any insight!

Here is my code:

#include <Wire.h>  // Comes with Arduino IDE
#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>

int Encoder_OutputA= 5;
int Encoder_OutputB= 6;

int Previous_Output;
int Encoder_Count;
int aState;

LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(0x27, 16, 2);

void setup() {

lcd.begin();
lcd.print("Filament Length"); //Intro Message line 1
lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
lcd.print("Counter"); //Intro Message line 2

delay(3000);
lcd.clear();

//Encoder pin Mode declaration
  pinMode (Encoder_OutputA, INPUT);
  pinMode (Encoder_OutputB, INPUT);

Previous_Output = digitalRead(Encoder_OutputA); //Read the inital value of Output A
}

void loop() {
     aState = digitalRead(Encoder_OutputA);

if (aState != Previous_Output)
   {
     if (digitalRead(Encoder_OutputB) != aState)
     {
       Encoder_Count ++;
       lcd.clear();
       lcd.print(Encoder_Count);
       //lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
       //lcd.print("Clockwise");
     }
       else
     {
       Encoder_Count--;
       lcd.clear();
       //lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
       //lcd.print("Anti - Clockwise");
     }
    Previous_Output = aState;
   }
}