Using Serial port output data for C programming

Im new with arduinos, so even if there is a topic about that, I dont know what to search for :~. Im taking data from a sonar, and want to use the output for a C program on my PC, but for that I would have to keep something like a .txt file with the data I need (last 10 sonar sacans) that my computer could acces. How can I do that? I have puttin, but not shure how I can use that to save constantly a number of scans.

Tnx in advanced.

Im taking data from a sonar, and want to use the output for a C program on my PC, but for that I would have to keep something like a .txt file with the data I need (last 10 sonar sacans)

You could open the Com:n port (n= port number) using C.... Specific to your flavor of C. Same idea for Visual Basic, Java, Excel, etc.

You could use a Leonardo and use HID over USB to make C "think" you were typing in the data in realtime.

You could use a console redirect (command window) to redirect the serial port to a file. Since the file handle is open to the redirect, you'll need to research how to open an "already open" file. Or, build a more intelligent batch file to count off 10 lines and open another redirect with something like a 001, 002, file suffix.

Ray

Bicho:
want to use the output for a C program on my PC, but for that I would have to keep something like a .txt file with the data I need (last 10 sonar sacans)

If I were you I'd design it so that there was a long-running process on the PC which read readings from the Arduino serial port and made them available to your 'C program'.