Using Serial to implement a password using other than numbers

I am trying to implement a password for my program. I am a mechanical engineer by trade and am trying to do some small projects using arduino. Programming is not natural so any help would be appreciated. So i want to use a one word input as a password to get to the rest of my program and this is what i have so far. i can get the output i want but how do i use words instead of numbers and get the "ACCESS DENIED" to only print once with wrong input. Thanks again.

void setup()
{

Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println(      "Enter ACCESS KEY to START"    );
}

void loop()
{
  while (Serial.available() == 0);
  if (Serial.available() - '0');
  {
    char ch = Serial.read();
    if (ch == '7')
    {
      Serial.println("ACCESS GRANTED");
    }
    else if (ch != '7')
    {
      Serial.println("ACCESS DENIED");
    }
  }
}
  if (Serial.available() - '0');

What the heck? Why would you be subtracting '0' from the number of bytes available to read? Why do you do nothing if the subtractions yields a true result (whatever that means)?

You can store the characters that you read in a char array, adding a NULL terminator after each addition, and use strcmp() to compare that array to a known value.

Thank you for pointing out the error in my program. That was left over from a write to display program to convert the numbers. anyway what i got from your post doesn't quit work for me. Here is what i got from it. Again any input would be helpful. i dont really know a lot about C++ programming so the more its dumbed down the better.

void setup()
{

Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  if (Serial.available());
  {
    char Str1[7] = "aaaaaa"; 
    String.read(Str1[0]);

if (strcmp(Str1,"Hunting") == true)
    {
    }
    else 
    {
    }
  }
}
void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  while (Serial.available() == 0); // Useless. You wait while no serial bytes are available,