using the Ardruino with DC motors

Hi all,

I'm brand new to Ardruino so I have a question that has probably been answered many many times... I couldn't find it in the search however.

We are making an automated demolition derby car for my Intro to mechanical engineering class using the ardruino duemilanove microcontroller and I had a question.

I want to wire the motors directly the microcontroller, but I'm not sure how I would control the motors. By that I mean, how do I tell the microcontroller to move forward AND backward. and how do I tell it to move left AND right. I know how to set pins high, but that only works for one direction as far as I understand. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sounds like you need a basic tutorial on DC motor control:

http://www.societyofrobots.com/actuators_dcmotors.shtml http://www.societyofrobots.com/schematics_h-bridgedes.shtml http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Workshop/Motors_1.html

There are MANY other tutorials out there. Once you understand why you CANNOT wire the motors directly to the microcontroller, you should be able to move to the next level of understanding (and questions ;) )

-- The Rugged Motor Driver: two H-bridges, more power than an L298, fully protected

So I cannot wire the motor to the controller under any circumstances? Even if I just want it to go in a circle?

No. The microcontroller output pins can only supply a few milliamps -- motors take a lot more. The motor will not turn. If someone turns the motor manually it can actually output a voltage that damages the microcontroller.

You absolutely need a "motor driver" that can convert the digital signals of the microcontroller to the voltage/current needed by the motor.

-- The Gadget Shield: accelerometer, RGB LED, IR transmit/receive, light sensor, potentiometers, pushbuttons

Correct - the outputs are only good for 5V, 20mA, 0.1W, just enough to drive an LED really, but plenty for interfacing with other logic parts.