Using Transistors when wiring LEDs in parallel

Hello, I am relatively new to using transistors in my circuits and need some help understanding the scenarios they are used for. I want to make an Arduino 7-segment digital clock out of LEDs in parallel that switch on/off and are controlled by 8-bit shift registers. I have read in posts that switching on/off multiple LEDs in parallel could burn up a 555 chip if powering the LED's directly off the chip, and that transistors help resolve this.

I think I generally understand how transistors work by switching larger currents, I just don't understand in what cases to use them and why they are useful here. Like how would I know that a 555 chip would burn up in this case if I tried using it alone?

Thanks and please point out if I'm misunderstanding anything!

EDIT: Ok, I didn't realize that chips in general have a supply voltage range/limit and can't supply more than that. If I'm correct, this means that multiple LEDS in parallel require more power than the chip can provide, thus a transistor is needed?

Shift register like TPIC6B595 is designed for sinking current from parts like common anode 7-segment displays. It has high current (150mA) outputs. I offer a board with up to 12 shift registers for controlling up to 12 digits. http://www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17/

Thanks, I will definitely look at that as an option!

But can someone please give me extra clarification on the use of transistors to solve the problem, which was the point of my question? Or a basic explanation of the things you need to consider voltage and current wise to run multiple LEDs in parallel without burning anything out?