Using UNO and 2 RFID Readers

Hi,

I am trying to make an the uno read from two RFID readers at the same time. Whilst it is possible with using the code I have, I have managed to make it read one at a time, due to the power (I think) When I put a pin from 5V to one it works, and then to the next it works - but when I try to run them from the same pin, it doesn’t!?

I’m fairly new to arduino, so any help would be great!

I’ve attached the setup I’ve created to make it work! Like I said, the arduino is reading from both fine, but it seems the power is not powering both up at the same time.

Hope you can help

I don't trust your diagram. Make a wiring list. List each pin by number, what you think that pin name is and what you have connected. Are you trying to run any code ? If so , post it using the "#" button.

raschemmel:
I don’t trust your diagram.
Make a wiring list.
List each pin by number, what you think that pin name is and what you have connected.
Are you trying to run any code ?
If so , post it using the “#” button.

That’s the setup I’m using - It works perfectly fine except the actual power.
Sorry, should have shared my code earlier:

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

SoftwareSerial mySerial(2, 3); // RX, TX

void setup()
{
// Open serial communications and wait for port to open:
Serial.begin(9600);
// set the data rate for the SoftwareSerial port
mySerial.begin(9600);
mySerial.println(“Hello, world?”);
}

void loop() // run over and over
{
byte readValue;

if (mySerial.available()) {
Serial.print(“1=”);
delay(40);
while (mySerial.available()) {
readValue = mySerial.read();
if (readValue>=9) {
Serial.write(readValue);
}
}
}

if (Serial.available()) {
Serial.print(“2=”);
delay(40);
while (Serial.available()) {
readValue = Serial.read();
if (readValue>=9) {
Serial.write(readValue);
}
}
}

}

If so , post it using the “#” button.

If you had done that , it would look like this…

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

SoftwareSerial mySerial(2, 3); // RX, TX

void setup()  
{