Usinig IR laser as a TV remote

Hello guys,

I would like your help. I am not very experienced on the arduino and the electronics. So I want to turn on and off the TV via the arduino but with an IR laser module. I already did it with an IR led (KY-005) which was designed for the arduinoand it was easy. Now i want to do the same thing with an IR laser. My IR laser has only two wires black and red so i am struggling to connect it and also even if i connect it (which is wrong) it doesnt work with the previous code that worked before with the IR led. I was suggested to connect a buffer circuit to amplify the laser current which i made but i cant connect the three of them together (arduino, laser, buffer circuit). So i have a problem with the code and with the implementation also on how to connect all of them. Sosrry for any mistakes on my english.

IR LASER Datasheet --> https://www.egismos.com/laser-modules/IR-laser-module-D97805L.pdf

IR LED Datasheet --> KY-005, KY-005 Datasheet, KY-005 PDF - Joy-IT

Code that worked with the IR LED

#include <IRremote.h>
IRsend irsend;

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop() {

irsend.sendRC5(0x4C, 20); //Power Code
delay(7000);
}

Thank you in advance

Can we guess that you have noticed the vast difference in emitted wavelength between the two devices?
Paul

1 Like

You need an 808nm module. And getting it to read might be annoying because you'd have to hit the receiver dead-on.

I don't know about the code (use code tags btw), but I think a Google search would bring what you need.

1 Like

sorry I am inexperienced. I didn't know that..can you tell me more on what should i do ?

how did you get to this number about the nm ? thank you

I guess you need to study the data sheets and technical information on the devices before you purchase or include them in something you are designing. The wave length of the light emitter and the wave length of the light accepted is right there on what yo linked to.