var assignment

Hi All,

I'm having a small problem that's driving me nuts!!!

I'm getting a value back from the advanced iPod controller, that works no problem, now I want to assign this value to a string (so i can do something with it)....

This is what it looks like.

void iPodNameHandler(const char *name){ mySerial.print(F("iPod Name: ")); mySerial.println(name); }

What I want is

String iPodName;

void iPodNameHandler(const char *devicename){ mySerial.print(F("iPod Name: ")); mySerial.println(devicename); iPodName = devicename; }

So that later on I can then use iPodName to build a text string or do something with it like

if (iPodName == " " { mySerial.print(F("No iPod Found: ")); } else { mySerial.print(F("iPod Found: ")); }

Any tips and sorry i'm not a programmer.

john

What I want is

So, what is the problem?

The problem is that.

void iPodNameHandler(const char *devicename){
mySerial.print(F("iPod Name: ")); mySerial.println(devicename); <-------- this works and displays the name
iPodName = devicename; <-------- this does not work and never displays the name, its always blank
}

Same goes for the track name

void titleHandler(const char *Title){
mySerial.print(F("Title: ")); mySerial.println(Title); <-------- this works and displys the track name
iPodTrackSongName = Title; <-------- this does not work and never displays the name, its always blank
}

the Var values for iPodName and iPodTrackSongName never have anything in them.

iPodName = devicename;                                      <-------- this does not work and never displays the name, its always blank

There is nothing in that code that displays anything.

http://snippets-r-us.com is down the road a ways. Maybe they can help you with the snippets.

Sorry mate, you’ve lost me!! are you saying that I’ve not given enough info for the problem to be seen??

I’m using the AdvancedRemote include

#include <AdvancedRemote.h>

//ipod vars
String iPodName;
//
String iPodPlaylistNumber;