Variable ESC speed with only 1 button...

So I have been here for help about 2 weeks back, where I got some really nice help from a guy (UKHeliBob- really patient guy) and finalized the code for me, however the code doesn't want to work for some reason. The idea is to have a code that (when the Arduino is connected to power) would arm the ESC with a 975 us to 1000 us pulse, then with each press of the one button, the Arduino would send out a pulse that would increase(higher speed) every time it would be pressed. There would be five speeds, 1000- which is the automatic arming pulse, 1250 us which is one-quarter speed, 1500 us which is half the speed, 1750 us which is three-quarters speed, 2000 us which is max speed and then after the 2000 us pulse an additional press would cause the whole thing to go to the start.PLEASE, JUST FOR YOUR INFO I AM THE MOST ABSOLUTE BEGINNER YOU CAN IMAGINE.

#include <Servo.h>
Servo m1;
const byte buttonPin = A2;
const int stratPin = A3;
const int ledPin = 9;
int writeValues[5] = {1000, 1250, 1500, 1750, 2000};
int buttonPushCounter = 0;   // counter for the number of button presses
int buttonState = 0;         // current state of the button
int lastButtonState = 0;

void setup()
{
  // initialize the button pin as a input:
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT_PULLUP);
  // initialize the LED as an output:
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
  // initialize serial communication:
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  if (stratPin == HIGH); // A3 is connected to 5 volt, so t should spit the 1000 us right away...
  m1.writeMicroseconds(1000);

delay(1000);

{
    buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);
    if (buttonState != lastButtonState)
    {
      // if the state has changed, increment the counter
      if (buttonState == LOW)
      {
        // if the current state is HIGH then the button went from off to on:
        buttonPushCounter++;
        Serial.println(buttonPushCounter);
        Serial.print("buttonPushCounter % 5 = ");