Variable not updating

I am completely new to Arduino and am having an issue with my code, which I couldn’t find a solution to in the forums. I was making a program that would trigger an alarm for a set time of that starts at 5 seconds when a motion sensor is triggered. To stop it from going for the whole time something is moving I set a delay of 5 minutes. (as a side note any help with how to delay the alarm without delaying the whole loop would be greatly appreciated) This is all working fine but I also want to be able to change the times with buttons. I have it post to the serial monitor, however when I pressed the buttons nothing happened to the variables, they just stayed constant. Please let me know if I am missing something or should explain something better. Thanks in advance for the help.

Buzzer4.ino (2.5 KB)

You are missing reading the sticky posts at the top of the forum, about how to post code in code tags.

You have a trailing ';' after all your if() statements. That is not the correct syntax. Remove them. With them present, they terminate the if() statement and all your code you think is associated with the if() is not associated and will always execute.

I have a similar question. Here is my code:

void loop() {
  unsigned long LowAt;

if (digitalRead(Pin) == HIGH) {
    Serial.print("HIGH at ");
    Serial.print(millis());
    Serial.print(" was last low at ");
    Serial.print(LowAt);
    Serial.print(" high for ");
    Serial.print((millis() - LowAt)/1000);
    Serial.println("s");
  } else {
    LowAt = millis();
    Serial.print("LOW at ");
    Serial.println(LowAt);
  }

delay(100);
}

When this runs, and I toggle PIN from HIGH to LOW, I get this: