Variables in an if statement

I’ve been working on this Arduino project for almost 8 months now, I came into a snag with an if statement. I am using variables to try and structure lcd messages, but it’s not working and i have idea why, this is my first project and I’ve only been taking and modifying other peoples code. Please help my brain is dying. (full code bellow).

// Unsigned longs. Extended funtions
unsigned long start = 5000; // 5 seconds for lcd start up message

// Variables.
int secretCode[maximumKnocks] = {50, 25, 25, 50, 100, 50, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0};  // Initial setup: "Shave and a Hair Cut, two bits."
int knockReadings[maximumKnocks];   // When someone knocks this array fills with delays between knocks.
int knockSensorValue = 0;           // Last reading of the knock sensor.
int programButtonPressed = false;   // Flag so we remember the programming button setting at the end of the cycle.
int lcdState = 0;  // lcd controller

#include<LiquidCrystal.h>

LiquidCrystal lcd(12,11,7,6,5,4);

void setup() {
  pinMode(lockMotor, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(gunMotor, OUTPUT);

lcd.begin(16,2);
  lcd.print("Geniouse progwam");
  lcd.setCursor(0,1);
  lcd.print("has startid   ");

Serial.begin(9600);            // Uncomment the Serial.bla lines for debugging.
  Serial.println(" This highly intelegent program has started.");       // but feel free to comment them out after it's working right.

if(millis() >= start)
  {
    int lcdState = 1;
  }
}
void loop() {
  if(lcdState = 1)
  {
    lcd.clear();
  }

I_am_zEE_HACKERMANNNNN.ino (8.26 KB)

I am using variables to try and structure lcd messages, but it's not working

There are only 2 lcd.print() statements in your sketch and neither of them use variables

What do you mean by "not working" ?

if (lcdState = 1)

Fix this first

= for setting the value of a variable
== for comparing two values