VC0706 PTC06 v1.0 Can't figure out why I can't get the FBUF lengths

Ok, I'm still really new to all of this. Originally I bought an OV7670, but was convinced that maybe I should start with an easier camera module. So, I ordered this one:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Miniature-Serial-Camera-Module-TTL-UART-interface-DC3-3V-5V-/300925192012?pt=Home_Automation_Controls_Touchscreens&hash=item46108a074c

Well, I was too excited and couldn't wait for it to get here, so I went to the RS and picked up their camera board and started experimenting. The example sketch worked, so I started digging through the protocol sheets to find the commands, study the code and write as much of it I could for myself.

Well, now I have everything going except when I execute the GET_FBUF_LEN, I get nothing but zeros. I've gone over this code 100 times and still can't seem to find where I went wrong. I'm no longer using the RS module(it was still a VC0706, but it's a LONG story), and just using the one provided in the link. I spliced the wires and soldered extension wires on so I wouldn't need to buy a 5 pin connector, then taped the connections, but I know that's not the problem because every other command comes back good.

Can anyone help? I've put 3 weeks into this so far and I just want to see it through to the end. I have no clue how to write data from an object to an SD, so I copied the example code but it still doesn't work, but it won't since I can't get a good return from the fbuf length.

I should note, I'm able to get pictures and lengths from the CommTool, just not from code.

the HEX I send to the module for fbuf length is:

56 00 34 01 00

Everything I've checked, including the worst directions ever that came with this one, show's that this is the correct information.

No code?

Read this before posting a programming question

How to use this forum