Vehicle instrument gauge display advice

Hello all-
This is my first post on here. I'm working on a rather complex project (for a beginner like myself) where I'm building a gauge display older, pre-electronic vehicles with the Arduino Mega. Right now I'm developing one for my truck, then I may sell customized ones to enthusiasts.

I'm just getting started with arduino and I have a lot to learn. If there are any tutorials or educational materials I should read before jumping in, feel free to guide me.

I'm making good progress with all of the sensors and such, but I'm going to want to upgrade soon from my 20x4 character display to a 5" or 7" TFT display. I'm looking for advice on which display and shield might be best.

The three I've seen most often are:
4dsystems- simple but prohibitively expensive
RA8875 based displays- sold on Adafruit or BuyDisplay
SSD1963 based displays- sold on BuyDisplay

I'm going to need a display that doesn't take up too many pins though- I'm using at least 10 analog and 10 digital pins for the sensors. The speed of the display isn't too vital as I the gauges will only refresh a small portion of the screen (I assume this is the best way to do it.)

Thanks for the help!

Most of the larger format displays are 16 bit parallel interfaces. The usual method to interface is with a standard shield such as this:

http://www.elecfreaks.com/store/lcd-tft01-arduino-mega-shield-v20-shd10-p-214.html

BuyDisplay will build you an SPI interface board (4 wire) but with a Mega you will probably not be happy with the performance.

Shop carefully, the overall performance you get will be a function of your processor speed, interface method and the graphics library you use. The library is the biggest variable as the first two are hardware numbers, the library is all software and it can be a significant performance bottleneck.