Vent

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/43311823/arduino-uno-variables-not-being-tested-against-in-if-statement

I am doing a school project, if you could help at all please click on the link. The code isn't working perfectly. Thanks

if you could help at all please click on the link.

Why? If you want help HERE, post your code HERE AND tell us HERE what the code does, and how that differs from what you expect.

if (opened != true and temperature >= 26) {

Add parentthesis; I've got 20+ years of C programming experience, and I wouldn't be sure of the relative precedence of "!=" vs "and"

Speaking of which: "and" ?? Are you sure that does what you think it does? Don't you want "&&"

westfw: Speaking of which: "and" ?? Are you sure that does what you think it does? Don't you want "&&"

http://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/language/operator_alternative

barry2803:
The code isn’t working perfectly.

Could you tell us what’s wrong? “It isn’t working” is the worst way to ask a question! :slight_smile:

I agree that you should post your code here. And if you redirect us, please make it a clickable link so we don’t have to copy and paste.

But OK

if ([b]opened != true[/b] and temperature >= 26) {
if ([b]!opened[/b] and temperature < 26) {

The first one has the condition that opened must be false. The second one has that same condition worded in a different way. So why bother?