Very Basic Breadboard Question

Hi,

I’m completely new to electronics (radiologist by background and hobbyist software developer).

I’m having trouble getting even the most basic circuit setup on my breadboard. I’m basically trying to get an LED to light up constantly (following the tutorial on ladyada.net without much success. Can somebody take a look at these two photos I’ve attached to see why the LED won’t illuminate?

I’ve tried three LEDS and three different value resistors (each both ways round) but the LED never lights up. The red wire in the picture is connected to the 5V pin and the black wire to the GND pin. The Arduino is plugged into the USB port on my laptop and shows the green power light and is running the example Blink() program.

Sorry if this is the dumbest of all questions but I’m clearly doing something fundamentally wrong!

Many thanks,

Assuming Im reading your breadboard correctly... Theres no connection between the positive rail and the resistor.

You can either use a small link from the positive rail to the resistor, or just connect the red wire direct to the resistor (to the end with the brown stripe).

That looks like a 1k resistor (Brown Black Red) in the photo, which is too high for a 5v supply. Use a 220ohm (Red, Red, Brown) or 33oohm (Orange, Orange, Brown) is the prefered values to use for a 5volt supply.

You need to figure out which holes on the whiteboard are connected to which other holes. Looks like you have the wrong idea there.

If you remove the whiteboard and just hold the wires to the led + resistor leads by hand, you should get light. Start there, then plug in the whiteboard.

FieldDoc:
Hi,

I’m completely new to electronics (radiologist by background and hobbyist software developer).