Very basic programming question

Hi all I am very new to the arduino and have been working throug a couple of tutorial.

I am only at the stage of programming a morse code flasher - after viewing a couple of tutorial I tried one that looked at setting up a function called "flash" in order to create the S O S signal.

In the tutorial we created a function called "flash" that had to be called a certain number of time depending on which letter was desired (IE S O or S).

I tried to extend the idea of creating functions and tried to create a seperate function for each of the 2 letters and then just call the function for each letter.

But it doesn't work.

Here is the code.

int ledPin = 12; // LED connected to digital pin 12 void setup() { pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); }

void flash(int duration) { digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); delay(duration); digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW); delay(duration); }

void smorse() { flash(200); flash(200); flash(200); }

void omorse() { flash(200); flash(200); flash(200); }

void loop() { smorse; delay(300); omorse; smorse; delay(1000); }

I cant figure out why? Any help please - I don't necessarily want the complete answer, but a pointer as to where I am going wrong would be great!

TIA

John

"smorse;" is not a function call. Use "smorse();"

To call a function, you have to have the parenthesis on the end of it. Without those, it's just a pointer to the function, which by itself on a line is meaningless.

void loop()
{
smorse();
delay(300);
omorse();
smorse();
delay(1000);
}

Now see if you can make it so that you have one function called flashLetter that takes a char as an argument which is the letter you want to flash. So you could call:

void loop()
{
flashLetter('s');
delay(300);
flashLetter('o');
flashLetter('s');
delay(1000);
}