Very confused about motors and gears

Beginner here.

I’m making a powered leg.from research I’ve got that I need a separate motor for each movement (hip and knee)
BUT I want to use 1 motor for both movements.

(Gets even more complicated when you introduce the other leg)

How would I go about controlling 2 pieces separately with 1 motor, by using gears? If this is the case, can you control gears on an arduino? If you can, then how is this done?
There’s also using pulleys but even there I’m a little confused as I’ll still need 2 pulleys from 1 shaft

BUT I want to use 1 motor for both movements.

Not possible, if two independent movements are supposed to happen at the same time.

Why set yourself such a poorly thought out challenge? Start small, get one joint to work, and go from there. If this is an entirely DIY project, you will encounter very difficult problems in the very first step. Guaranteed.

Or, buy one of the many available hobby-style robot arms and learn how they work.

Right thanks for clearing that up. It’s been boring a hole in my head for weeks.

The reason I’ve set myself this challenge is because I’m in a wheelchair and 10 years later, it’s gotten to a point where I’m sick of it. I can’t sit by doing nothin and watch my body balance get worse every few months.

I’m currently 3D printing a very small scale version, attaching 2 small motors (nema 17) to the hip and knee and testing that. Once I get the small version working okay, I’m hoping to try pulleys, experiment, move further and up from there.

I’m new to Arduino/engineering but I do have a Game Development/programming background.

jremington:
Or, buy one of the many available hobby-style robot arms and learn how they work.

Oh, I have. It was the PiArm. What I got from that it that each movement has its own individual motor, and I’m trying not to do this.