Very low-speed direct-drive 3-phase motor and controller

Summary: I want to build some large high-torque very-low-speed axial flux 3-phase motors (including controllers) to direct the altitude and azimuth of a telescope to track stars accurately for long-exposure astrophotography.

Apologies if I’ve posted in the wrong section.

Greetings! -

I'm a new user here hoping to get myself mixed in with some smart people who can point me in the right direction. I've taken on an ambitious project and am very excited to get started.

I've been an amateur astronomer for a while, and have built a few telescopes from scratch (even ground my own mirrors!) and I want to take it to the next level.

So to begin, I saw this video and was hooked. PlaneWave at AIC 2011 - Sky & Telescope - YouTube

I was marveling at how smooth and accurate the direct-drive motor system works and want something similar.

This telescope carries a $200,000 price tag, but I know that with perseverance I can get away with building it myself and still get good results. I don’t expect this project to be completed overnight; I’m sure I will be tinkering and improving things over months and months.

Because I’m just a single person without a lot of resources, I have to keep things to a budget as much as possible.

So I want to make a 2-motor alt-az telescope mount. The motors on that telescope are large axial flux motors using permanent magnets and coils. Someone at that company designed the motor controllers so that they can provide very slow but very steady motion so that the telescope can track the stars extremely accurately. The specification they list is less than 0.07 arcsecond deviation (1 / 52,000th of a degree) from perfect while tracking the entire night. This kind of tracking accuracy is an astrophotographer’s dream.